Token of Appreciation

“Since we don’t know the type of coat or costume you want, please settle for our verify as a token of appreciation.

It was a Saturday night.

Mrs. Opp and her three grown kids had been busy dressing to exit. One didn’t know the others vacation spot. Every had his personal curiosity and his personal buddies.

The busiest of the dressers was Mrs. Opp. Whereas she was placing on her greatest apparel she stored on saying, “I hope I’m not late; I promised Mrs. Pincus to be at her house no later than seven o’clock, earlier than her son, Leon, leaves the home. Is boy! Is boy! I heard him the opposite night time talking on the auxiliary assembly of our congregation and he gained everyone’s coronary heart. After all, I used to be instructed that males on talking platforms are typically solely actors and in actual life they’re totally different. That is the rationale that I wish to have a look at him. I’ve a woman for him that the minute he’ll see her, he’ll be tsuplatst.”

Whereas Mrs. Opp busied herself, her kids had been anxiously ready to make use of the lavatory. Her older daughter, Miriam, a kindergarten instructor, remarked, “Mom, gained’t you be variety sufficient to allow us to in first? You don’t need to be at Mrs. Pincus’s so early. If that boy Leon is any type of a person, he gained’t run out of the home so early.”

From the lavatory got here the mom’s voice.

“I by no means take probabilities. I’ve quite a few actual property propositions to place by through the week and I wish to see Leon tonight. I bought one thing good for him.”

A half hour later all had been on the point of depart when the doorbell rang. Miriam was the primary to run to the door. Because the Opps lived on the third ground, it took a couple of minutes earlier than the customer appeared.

It was Leon, for whom Mrs. Opp was looking for a mate.

All had been stunned, besides Miriam, who spoke smilingly.

“Of us, I need you to satisfy my fiance. Now, ma, since you’re such a sensible girl, we are going to allow you to set the date for our marriage ceremony.”

MOTHERS AND SONS

ONE of the rooms in a downtown lodge was crowded.

The event was a reception in honor of the arrival of Mr. and Mrs. Berl Berlowitch, a retired couple who had been touring the nation visiting landsleit and buddies.

